The First Anniversary of the Book Launch

Dan&pot2

Danny Allen (to the viewer’s far right) with two friends during a Rochester Sunday brunch.

Danny Allen’s sister, Chris reminded me the other day that it’s been one year since the launch of An Early Work Late in Life. Today is St. Patrick’s Day–and one year ago today Chris, along with a great number of Dan’s and my friends from our Rochester days were on our way to a reception to honor the book and remember Danny (as if any of us who knew him could ever forget).

The book has been a personal milestone for me in that it recalls other early milestones of my youth shared with Danny. In honor of Dan (and St. Patrick’s day) I’m posting these two photos that weren’t used in the book, but are worth sharing. We won’t go into what Dan appears to be doing in these pictures–but I think we all know. He will always be loved and missed. But at the same time, many of us feel more of a sense of resolution now that a portion of Dan’s life has been documented. I still love you, Dan–even after all these years.

Dan&pot1

Another view of Danny Allen (to the viewer’s far right) with two friends during a Rochester Sunday brunch.

 

Leave a comment